The McGowan Government today gazetted regulations confirming its earlier administrative ban on hydraulic fracture stimulation (fracking) in the South-West, Peel and Perth regions. This delegated legislation also supports the State-wide fracking moratorium, that has already been implemented, while the scientific inquiry is underway.

The inquiry, expected to be completed within 12 months, will address community concerns around fracking. Bill Johnston, Minister for Mines and Petroleum said, “The McGowan Government recognises the need to protect the State’s environment from risks associated with fracking… While the fracking ban in the South-West, Peel and Perth regions has already been achieved, the regulations provide a permanent ban in these areas.

Led by the Environmental Protection Authority chairman, Dr Tom Hatton, the inquiry will hold public meetings in Perth and the Mid-West and Kimberley regions, and provide opportunities for public submissions, will Johnston stating, “”We will consider the community’s views and the outcome of the inquiry in forming our decision on the future of fracking in Western Australia.””

Community members can express their views to the inquiry online, submissions are open until March 19, 2018.  For more information, visit